Recently updated on December 29th, 2022 at 01:01 am
Amazon is a well-known company which is spread all over the world. Customers use Amazon services by creating an account with Amazon by sharing their credentials with the company. However, if you are not using your Amazon account, you might want to delete your account, which holds your sensitive information. Below we’ve penned down the updated way to delete your amazon account within 5 minutes.
This is the updated method to delete your Amazon account. To close your amazon account, you need to use a mobile or desktop browser. Now follow the steps below:
How long does it take to permanently delete an Amazon account?
After selecting the Close my Account option, Amazon will send a confirmation email or text to your linked number or email account. You’ll then have 5 days to reply to confirm to Amazon that you want to close your account permanently.
How To Delete Your Amazon Account Permanently in 2023
- Visit the Amazon account closure page and sign in to your account.
- Scroll down and select the Reason for deleting your amazon account.
- Now check the box next to “Yes, I want to permanently close my Amazon Account and delete my data”.
- Click on Close my account.
- Now you’ll receive a confirmation link on your registered no. or email address.
- Open the mail and click on Confirm Account Closure button.
Things to Remember Before Closing Your Amazon Account
Amazon is not just an online shopping website now; Amazon now offers streaming, video service, music service, eBook service, smart devices, payment services, and many more. It would be best if you considered some things before closing your amazon account permanently. After closing your amazon account, you won’t be able to access the following amazon services:
What does deleting Amazon account do?
- You will lose your AWS (amazon web service) account.
- You cannot access your amazon profile, review, any discussion post, or details like a refund, return and purchase details from your amazon account.
- After deleting your amazon account from amazon.com, you cannot access your account from any other amazon global websites like amazon.fr, amazon.com.mx, etc.
- You will lose your amazon seller account and its data.
- You will not be able to access your amazon pay account. If anywhere you’ve set amazon pay as a payment method, then you’ve to update your payment information after closing your amazon account.
- Gift card: Amazon.com gift card balance will be lost after deleting your amazon account. Third-party gift cards will be working without any issue.
- You will lose access to prime video and music. You will not be able to access your data like a watchlist or recommendation after closing an amazon account.
- You will not be able to access amazon photos and your content from amazon photos.
- You will not be able to access your audible profile, credit, and all access to audible content.
- You will lose access to your kindle services and your kindle publishing account.
- You cannot access the amazon app store using the deleted account.
- Your amazon devices like echo, fire tablet, kindle, firestick, tv, etc., will unlink from your amazon account. Also, you’ll lose access to amazon services on these devices. To access the amazon service again, you need to link your device to a new amazon account.
- You will lose access to Alexa on the device which supports Alexa.
How to delete amazon account on mobile?
If you own a smartphone (android/iOS) and want to delete your amazon account permanently on it. Then, follow the steps that we’ve instructed below;
On an Android device (tablet or smartphone) or iPhone;
- Firstly, close the Amazon app (if open) and navigate to Google Chrome.
- Now, visit the Close Your Amazon Account page and sign in to your account.
- Then, select a Reason in the drop-menu app for deleting your amazon account.
- Tick the box next to “Yes, I want to permanently close my Amazon Account and delete my data”.
- After that, click on the Close my account option.
- And, you’ll receive a confirmation link on your registered phone number or email address. Head to the mail and click on the “Confirm Account Closure” button.
Now, your amazon account will be deleted permanently.
Can I Reopen A Deleted/Closed Amazon Account?
No, you cannot get access to a deleted amazon account. After closing your amazon account, you or anyone else will not be able to access your amazon account on amazon sites globally. There is no way to restore a deleted amazon account. You’ll also lose all the services offered by amazon mentioned above. You’ll need to create a new amazon account to access amazon and its services in the future.
Can I close my Amazon account and open a new one?
Well, you can close your Amazon account and open a new one. When you delete your Amazon account, all your personal information, purchase history, and other data associated with your account will be deleted.
We hope that we’re able to solve your query. For more information, comment below with your question. You can also read our post on how to delete a Spotify account.