Recently updated on August 24th, 2022 at 12:42 am
eBay is an online shopping site that helps you to buy and sell old items. If you have old stuff in your home and wish to sell, then create an account on eBay and sell the item through the bargain with the local people in your area. You can also alternatively search for the available product by eBay in your area. eBay is available in many countries so that you can sell and buy items nationally and internationally.
Anyone can create an account on eBay for free, and if you also created an account on eBay for selling or picking and you don’t need this account anymore, you desire to close it, then follow our method of how you can close the eBay account. But before you delete the account, you should first know that eBay does not provide a special delete button that you press and your account will be closed.
What You Should Know Before Deleting Your eBay Account
There are some things you should know before deleting your account.
- If you’ve any pending amounts to pay on eBay, eBay can contact you after your account closure request. Make sure you complete all your transactions and you’re not bidding on any item before deleting your account.
- When your account is deleted, your profile is completely removed from eBay. However, your feedback will remain live and active on eBay.
- After deleting your eBay account, you cannot use the same email address or user id again on ebay.com or half.com in the future.
Also, check our post on how to delete your amazon account permanently.
How do I permanently delete my eBay account?
We will guide you step by step on how you can delete the account. After deleting the account, you will lose all your transaction history. So if you agreed to close the account, then follow the method.
- Go to ebay.com on your browser.
- Sign in to your eBay account with your credentials. If you don’t remember your login details, then first change of reset your eBay password.
- Click on the options help & contact.
- Now on, how can we help you today? Page type delete account in the search box and choose the option closing your account and deleting your data.
- Scroll down and click on the close account and delete my data.
- Now eBay will ask you to tell us why you are leaving; click on the drop-down key and select personal reason and choose from any option listed and click on Continue.
- Next, select the option through the drop-down key No, please close my account and delete my data and press the Continue.
- Now read the information carefully about what would happen if you close the account, click on the check mark box, and click on submit the request.
- You’ll receive a notification that your eBay account will be deleted in 30 days and a confirmation mail once your account is deleted.
- Log into your eBay account and click on your name. This will prompt the drop-down menu.
- Now, click on the Account Settings > Account.
- Click on Close Account under the Account preferences section.
- Then, scroll to the bottom, click on the Close account and delete my data.
- Select a reason to close your account and Continue.
- Check mark the “I read and understand the above information” box and click on Continue.
Note: You cannot access your account after submitting an account closure request
How long does it take to delete my eBay account?
eBay will send you a confirmation mail within 24 hours after receiving your account deletion request. Your account will be deleted after 60 days if you’ve recently used eBay. So, if you change your mind and wish to reactivate it, you can use it. However, if you don’t use it, it’ll be deleted after 60 days. For people who haven’t used their eBay account for the past 60 days, their account will be deleted in the next 60 days.
How to delete eBay account on Mobile App
I installed the eBay app on my mobile device and tried to delete my account through the eBay mobile app. But currently, there is no option to delete your eBay account through their app. However, you can use the Chrome browser and switch to desktop site mode, and then you can delete your eBay account by following the above steps.
Might interest you: How to delete skype account
What could be the exception when you deleting eBay account?
According to eBay, you cannot delete your account or data on eBay if:\
- If you owe eBay money.
- If you have pending transactions like open bids, pending payments from buyers, and outstanding payouts to your checking account.
- eBay will retain to detect data related to an account to prevent and investigate if there is any fraudulent or illegal activity.
- Your data related to the account can be retained for the purpose of applicable law.
- The account can’t be closed if there are public health issues.
Alternative way to close eBay account
Sometimes people want to close or delete their account with a simple button click. But it is not available or possible on all online platforms. You need to perform certain steps only after that eBay account is closed or deleted. But there is an alternate method of deleting your eBay account. To delete your eBay account, contact the eBay team online. They can help you in closing your eBay account.
Can I delete my eBay account and start over?
As we stated, after deleting your eBay account, you can’t use the same email address or user id again on ebay.com or half.com in the future.
Conclusion: You can delete your eBay account by submitting an account closure request from the help & contact option. eBay will delete your account in 30 days.
If you’ve any queries regarding eBay, let us know and check out our latest post on how to cancel amazon prime subscription